How Native American Women Inspired The Feminist Movement

I read this very interesting article yesterday.

It is an interesting read on how Native women inspired the feminist movement. Apparently, some early suffragists were familiar with how Native women are equal to men in their own cultures. Some suffragists even saw for themselves how the Native woman’s experience differed from their own.

Women were property. They had no rights. With Native peoples, though, this is not the case. Women have always been respected and equal. So, I can definitely see how Native women helped to inspire the feminist movement.

I think it is a good article and thought I’d share it for Native American Heritage Month.

7 responses to “How Native American Women Inspired The Feminist Movement

  1. Hi Eden, I’m glad to have found the blog of another passionate writer. I really like your article on How Native American Inspired the Feminist Movement and the fact you shared it for Native American Heritage Month. If you don’t mind me I would love to use this article for one of my blog posts, I write a lot about Native Americans in the U.S. and other indigenous issues. I wish you the best in your writing career and if you have any suggestions on any good reads by Native American women please share them with me.

    Like

    • Thank you. You may share the article on one of your blog posts.

      If you want some biographies I’d recommend Looking for Lost Bird: A Jewish Woman Discovers Her Navajo Roots by Yvette Melanson and Maria Tallchief: America’s Prima Ballerina by Maria Tallchief

      I’ve read some books by Cynthia Leitich Smith and liked them. She’s a Native American author that writes fiction for children and young adults.

      A book I love is The Girl Who Married the Moon: Tales from Native North America. It is by Joseph Bruchac and Gayle Ross, who is a descendant of Chief John Ross. It has 16 tales of Native American women.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hi Eden, thank you for the book suggestions on Native American women writers. Joseph Bruchac is my favorite author for children’s books! I will check out “The Girl Who Married the Moon: Tales from Native North America” sounds very interesting. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

