What’s Going On And Animals

I am happy to say that the past few weeks my dad has had more business. It has still been tough; there still hasn’t been enough money to pay all the bills, but things have been a little bit better.

But, he’s still working at our house. All the garages around us cost over $1,000 a month just for rent. And he can’t afford that. So for now, he has had no other choice than do work here at our house. But, it’s not an official inspection garage and we could can never get it past as one because the garage really isn’t big enough for a mechanic’s garage. We would have to build a bigger garage out here for that, but that would cost money my parents don’t have.

So he has been taking on jobs out here and doing inspections. Since out here we wouldn’t be able to make it into an official inspection garage,  my dad worked out an agreement with a guy to put the stickers on vehicles that he inspects and my dad gives him some money for it. A while ago the guy retired and my dad had to find someone else. Luckily, he did and the guy agreed to take the same amount.

My mom has been driving the vehicles out to this other garage since my dad has been having some health problems. And today my mom told me the guy is telling her he wants more money for doing the inspections for them. The thing is, since they have to pay this guy for putting the sticker on the vehicles they only make $50 for inspections if the vehicles needs to have emissions done on it as well. If it only needs an inspection, they make just $20. If he starts wanting more, they’ll hardly be making anything and my mom told me they can’t charge the customers more or they will just go elsewhere.

My dad went to the guy’s garage, and he does know him personally, the guy agreed to do it for the amount that’s currently being paid. My mom is worried he is going to start charging them more. The guy doesn’t do much other than put the sticker on the vehicles and do the emissions tests, which is very easy to do. My dad checks out the vehicles before taking them out to him, and if anything is wrong, he fixes it before taking it out to get an inspection sticker.

I’m just praying the guy doesn’t start charging them more. But, I had a bad feeling about this guy since I went to his garage a few days ago with my mom.

I’d never been out there before, but I decided to go with her that day. The guy has a female cat out there and she has kittens. She has some that are almost grown and four that she gave birth to only a few days ago.

I have heard people say they you can tell what type of person someone is by how they treat animals. And this guy with the garage helped me learn that is true.

The cat he has out at his garage was just dropped off there one day by someone who didn’t want her anymore. So he took her in and has fed her. But, when she had her first litter of kittens, which wasn’t too long ago, all the kittens got eye and sinus infections. All of them still have them and the mother cat has a sinus infection. He won’t take them to the vet. And since they have had the infections so long, the kittens can’t see well. The one kitten can only see out one eye since the infection damaged the other eye.

When I was there the other day he laughed and said that they call that cat One Eye. I didn’t think it was funny because that could have been prevented.

Someone came for an inspection yesterday morning and so my mom took the car out to the garage once it was all checked out. When my mom got out there the guy told her one of the kittens were dead. What happened was when they were closing up and closing the last garage door, the kitten tried to run in before it closed and the door crushed the cat.

She told me and I was upset. I had held that kitten just the day before. She had another car to take out for inspection later that day and so I went with her again. There are two kittens left, ones that are almost grown. And of course, the four newborn kittens. We only saw one of the kittens and the other couldn’t be found. I think it must be somewhere mourning for its sibling that died. My mom said the same thing to the guy who owns the garage and he said he didn’t know that they mourned.

He does feed them and give them water, but beyond that, he won’t do anything else for the cats. He doesn’t want to have to pay any money for them to go to the vet. And he doesn’t really seem like he cares if they get hurt or killed.

I really hope that he won’t start charging my dad more, but I can definitely tell what type of person he is by not taking care of the mother cat and her kittens.

Do you believe you can tell a lot about a person by how they treat animals?

15 responses to “What’s Going On And Animals

  1. Yes, you can tell a lot about someone, by how they treat animals. He sounds pretty insecure, and may have money problems of his own. That isn’t something your family can do much about, though.

    Like

    • He doesn’t have money problems. Besides the garage, which he and his family own, he also owns a farm with a large piece of land that he rents out to an Amish family.

      Some people are just cheap and greedy.

      Like

  2. i hope your dad keeps on working.
    some people just see animals as that, animals. while others will see them as shared beings of this earth. i do think you can tell something about how people treat animals, but a lot has to do with culture.

    Like

    • He’s doing what he can right now. The easiest thing to do is inspections, but he’s having some health problems right now that are preventing him from doing bigger jobs on vehicles.

      I know there are some people who see animals as just animals. I guess it is hard for me to understand since I wasn’t raised that way. My family has always had animals. Whether it was dogs, cats, ferrets, birds, or now, hamsters. Animals have always been a part of my life and I love them.

      Like

  3. I can’t believe that guy is just letting them get sick :/ I have a strong dislike toward people who outright refuse to take care of their animals.

    This reminds me of a post I’ll be writing soon.

    Like

  4. I’m glad your dad is working. I hope this sticker guy doesn’t mess things up.
    I know this guy seems callous towards the cats. At least he feeds and waters them. There were feral cats on my farm. I didn’t feed them. There was plenty of water available because of livestock. I didn’t know one of the cats was dead or injured. They just lived there. They were there before me and there when I left.

    Like

    • He has actually taken the cat and all her kittens in as pets. All of cat’s kittens are tame and love attention. He doesn’t seem to mind giving them water or feeding them, but I guess he doesn’t want to do anything else besides that.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

