R.I.P Satoru Iwata

July 12th, Nintendo released a statement saying that the president of the company had passed away.

Satoru Iwata was the president of Nintendo from 2002 to 2015. He passed away on July 11th at the age of 55 from bile duct cancer.

If you don’t know, Nintendo is a video game company, and it is my favorite video game company. The first home console I remember playing was a Nintendo one.

So I have been a fan for years and I liked Satoru Iwata. I liked the Nintendo Directs he did and seeing him at E3. He always seemed to be smiling and he was passionate about gaming. Iwata was not just a CEO, but before that he was a video game programmer. He was also a gamer and loved what he did.

He did a lot for Nintendo and the video game industry in general. I thank him for all he did, and making a lot of fun video games.

Rest in peace Mr. Iwata.

Also, a day after Satoru Iwata’s death, this rainbow appeared over the Nintendo headquarters. I think he was trying to let everyone know he is okay.

8 responses to “R.I.P Satoru Iwata

  1. I know this was a real blow to Nintendo. And his loss will be felt in the gaming community. At first I had a concern about whether this would effect the direction of the company. But I know they have a lot great people in that company that can carry the Nintendo dream forward. Iwata will definitely be missed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

