Random Stuff

I haven’t had the time to write on here much lately. Besides doing things around the house that need done, I have been busy writing a short story. I’ve put my books on hold so I can finish the short story and submit it. If it ends up being accepted, I’ll make sure to let everyone know.

My dad still hasn’t found another garage. We’ve been surviving, but it has been tough. There haven’t been anymore donations to the GoFundMe and my dad’s kids (my half-siblings) aren’t willing to help. I am just trying to stay positive though, and believe things will somehow work out.

I’ve made another new item, but haven’t listed it for sale yet. I have the pictures uploaded on my laptop and will post them on here within a few days.

I have found that I love Ebay. Some of the stuff on there you can get for really, really good prices. I buy skater shoes (skateboarder sneakers) and they used to be $40, which was pretty affordable. Over the past few years they have went up and depending on what brand you buy, they can be $80 or more.

I have found good brands of Skater shoes on Ebay for $21. I know when I need new shoes where I will be buying them.

June 1st starts Hershey Library’s summer reading program! I can’t wait. My local library also has a summer reading program and I wanted to get information to see if I wanted to sign up for that one instead. I emailed them more than a week ago with some questions and they’ve never responded. My local library does this all the time. They hardly ever reply to emails. But, if I email Hershey, Middletown or Mount Joy libraries they always email me back. So I have just decided to go with Hershey again for the summer reading program.

Mount Joy Library’s book sale is next month! I am looking forward to that too.

I have been reading Litefoot’s biography. I like it so far. Before that I read a book I won from Goodreads. The author is a good writer, I really liked the writing style in the book. But, I didn’t enjoy the story itself. I guess the fact the 14 year-old main character was forced to marry man she didn’t really know and he had decided more than a year in an advance she was going to be his wife, just kind of turned me off. It’s set in the 19th century and while I know things were different back then, I have also read other books set in the 19th where female characters weren’t forced to do anything they didn’t want to. Maybe I have read too many books with strong female characters. Or maybe it is because the situation in the book FLDS like vibes. Maybe it was a bit of both.

How has everyone been? I hope you all have a nice weekend 🙂

6 responses to “Random Stuff

  1. Stick with strong female characters. It sounds like your summer library activities are offering some enjoyment. Your Dad should certainly keep his name out there, as new opportunities arise all the time-even when things look darkest. This has been my experience also.

    Like

    • I will. I love reading books that have strong female characters, or at least just strong characters in general.

      He’ll keep looking and people know that he is still looking for another garage. I know somehow things will work out.

      Like

  2. Yes, let us know what happens with the story! 🙂
    Yay for the upcoming book sale AND the summer reading program! Sounds like a good way to endure a warm summer.
    Still sending prayers and good wishes to your family.
    It’s been a tough year for so many people. 😦
    (((HUGS)))

    Like

Leave a Reply

