Beliefs

Everyone has their own beliefs and often people seek out others who are of a like mind. Finding others who share your beliefs can lead to discussion and the continuing journey of your spiritual path. This search for finding others who are like-minded can lead to going to Church, or even meetings where you read spiritual studies and discuss them.

I think all people need a place, or at least someone, that they can discuss their beliefs without fear of judgement.

Even in a group of like-minded people, you’ll still find some whose beliefs, or rather, opinions that don’t mesh with your own. And that’s okay. We all have different opinions and beliefs.

But, when one person decides that your beliefs are wrong and you need to believe as they do, that is when the problem starts.

I’m not one to blog about my beliefs. I think the most I’ve ever said is I believe in the Great Spirit. I was raised Catholic and for many years went to church with my parents. Sometime in my teens we stopped going. It became a negative and uncomfortable environment.

Now I don’t call myself Catholic or Christian. I prefer not to label myself. And I don’t go to church. I haven’t for a long time. I don’t feel I need to go to church because I’m connected to the Great Spirit wherever I am. But, that’s how I feel and what is right for me. Others may feel the need to go church and that is what’s right for them.

My point is, what’s right for you may not be right for me, and versus. We’re all different, all have different spiritual needs and paths. There is nothing wrong with this.

However, what’s wrong is to argue with a person over their beliefs.

Everyone has had different experiences, whether negative or positive, that has led them to their current spiritual path. The experiences with church I had with my family as a child and teenager, has led me to my current spiritual path. And I am happy with the path I am now. My mom is also happy with the path she is on.

But, these negative experiences with going to church didn’t make my mom, or me, exactly feel negative about church. But, rather we learned it wasn’t for us and so we seek out like-minded people.

However, I have learned that even in groups of people who share my beliefs, there can still be someone who wants you to believe exactly as them. And if you don’t, you’re in for a verbal attack.

It’s nice when you can find a group of people you can let your guard down with and not have to fear judgement. But, when suddenly you have to put your guard up because you’re being attacked for your beliefs, or just sharing your story of how you to the path you are on, it’s not a nice feeling.

Even when I meet someone whose beliefs I don’t agree with, I don’t attack them because it is disrespectful and they also have a right to their beliefs just as I do. I just wish all people were respectful and wouldn’t attack another because that person believes differently.

Have you ever been attacked for your beliefs?

21 responses to “Beliefs

  1. Living in Texas, I’m a little bit afraid of being attacked for my lack of belief, so I don’t talk much about it. There are organizations of athiests, but I’m not sure that’s for me, either. A group of people talking about non-belief seems a lot like a group of people talking about belief. Maybe I’ll find the right group one of these days.
    And I don’t think it does any good to attack people because of their beliefs or lack thereof. Most of us have made up our minds and being harangued by an annoying person isn’t going to make us change!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I still pray for those that are not believers ya know if they are sick or have needs of help in anyway I pray because it is good for my spirit it just makes me feel good. I would never judge you because we all have our own will on how we think.

      Like

  2. many years ago, while I was in the navy and attend corpsman school in san diego, I was sitting in balboa park listening to a group playing some music. most of the people there had much longer hair than I and I would consider those around me to be “hippies” for a lack of a better name. it was summer. as I was sitting there, minding my own business, a group of people my own age, dress like “hippies” walked by me and spit on me and called me “baby killer” just because I was in the military (because of the short hair and all). they knew nothing about me, except what they saw and they made their judgment. several others around me heard and saw what happened and came to my “rescue” and chased off the mean people. they apologized for their behavior and told me to ignore them and just enjoy the rest of the day. I had never in my life been ashamed to be an American until that day. ignorant people surround us. yet I will still defend their right to be that way and to have their say.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was going to a church that I was very active in when I divorced Rick I was heartbroken when I was asked to step down because I was no longer a good roll model for the children I was working with

    Like

  4. Excellent post!
    I love to talk to and learn from people who have different beliefs (politically, religiously, culturally, etc.). The world is a more interesting place with our differences. And we have more in common than we do differences, so we should accept, respect and learn from each other.
    In answer to your question…Yes, I have.
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

  5. I wouldn’t be surprised if there are a lot of things in common between the Great Spirit and the Holy Spirit. Both sound like guides for those who believe in them. Cool Post.

    God Bless

    Like

  6. I’m with you; I think it’s pretty terrible to attack someone for their beliefs just because the beliefs are different.
    My beliefs have changed from the very conservative Evangelical ones I grew up in. I am fortunate that my family has been accepting of me (even if they are “concerned” that I have strayed into new territory) but I have been very quiet about my beliefs around other people who I think would probably be less kind to me, including extended family.

    Like

  7. I’m glad your family has accepted your different beliefs. I’m like you, quiet about my beliefs around people, at least until I really get to know them and I know I won’t be attacked for my beliefs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

