Brian Keene at the York Emporium

September 5th I went to meet Brian Keene for the fourth time.

He was at the bookstore called the York Emporium, which is located in York, Pennsylvania. It’s a big used bookstore. They have so many books, including a section for paranormal type books.

The night Brian Keene was there the Bizzaro tour came there. Bizzaro is a genre of fiction. I guess the simplest way to explain Bizzaro is that it’s just really weird and random fiction. Brian Keene writes horror books, but his book, The Lost Level, will be Bizzaro. He read a part of the book while there and it was really good. I can’t wait to read it.

Brian Keene, September 5th, 2014 001s

Brian Keene, September 5th, 2014 002s

After he read some of his book, he asked me if I liked it and if it was good. I told him yes, that it was really good. I think he knew I was there to see him. And honestly, he was the reason I went. Besides Brian Keene, the only other author there I knew was Kelli Owen. I’ve never read her books, but I’ve seen her before. She seems really nice too. At some point I’d like to read one of her books.

I listened to a few of the other authors share their stories, or parts from a book. I didn’t stay and listen to all of them, but I did listen to a few after Brian Keene was finished. The ones I listened to, I thought they were good.

While I was there I looked through the paranormal type books and that’s where I found my copy of Talking to Heaven by James Van Praagh.

I didn’t stay for the whole thing. The store has no air conditioning and it was very hot, and very humid. I did get a picture with Brian before I left. He was also hot and went outside a few times while I was there. I don’t blame him. Being in the store too long was pretty miserable after a while.

Brian Keene, September 5th, 2014 004s

I had a good time and thought it was pretty cool that he asked me if I liked what he read of his book.

signebook

He signed my copy of The Cage while I was there.

Next year he is only making one public appearance and it’s at a convention. The tickets don’t cost much, but it’s in Williamsburg, Virginia and I probably won’t have the money to travel there. So, most likely I won’t be seeing him next year. Hopefully in 2016 he’ll do some book signings close by again.

I had fun on the 5th and hope to see him again sometime. He’s really nice and easy to talk to.

4 responses to “Brian Keene at the York Emporium

Leave a Reply

