Honoring Diana Wynne Jones

Diana Wynne Jones was born August 16th, 1934. Today would have been her 80th birthday.

In March, it was 3 years since she had passed. And I know I have written a lot about her; I dedicated the whole month of May to writing about her on my blog. In May it was 5 years since I had become a fan and I wanted to celebrate it. But now I realize that I was also honoring her.

It is important that we honor those who have passed on. I may not have known Diana personally, but it feels as if I did. I never met her in person, but in my dreams, I did meet her. I know some may say that it was just coming through my dreams what I wanted, that I wanted to meet her. But it was definitely more than that.

Since today is Diana’s birthday, I wanted to write a post about her to honor her.

She was really a brilliant writer. Her books are so imaginative and it’s really no wonder that I love them so much. She is an inspiration to me. I always recommend Diana’s books to people because I want everyone to experience her writing.

I know that Diana is no longer here with us physically, but I still feel her here. She’s still very much alive, in her stories and in the hearts of people who love her.

I see her influence in the writing of many authors. There have been a number of times I’ve read a book and thought “this person’s book sort of feels like something Diana Wynne Jones could have written.” Later I find out this author is a fan of Diana Wynne Jones.

Her influence lives on through many writers. And you know, that really makes me smile because I realize how much of an impact we can have on each other. We can really be a positive and inspiring influence on each other. We can do it in so many ways, too. Some of us do it with writing, some are actors, some are singers and some are just people who are kind to everyone. It’s really amazing.

But Diana chose writing. And so I have. Words are amazing; they are a way to really connect with someone on a personal level. Words and stories are something every person needs. I love to write and look forward to the day when my writing will be shared with people all over the world.

It’s thanks to Diana that will happen because she is the reason I began to write again. I will forever be thankful to her and will always honor her memory.

4 responses to “Honoring Diana Wynne Jones

  1. Oh! What a nice tribute to her! 🙂
    Because of you…she is now one of my favorite authors!
    Authors words, ideas, stories, emotions, and so much more live beyond them! and through fans like you, Diana will live on forever.
    I’m glad you are a writer, SweetE!!!
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

