What About Diana Wynne Jones?

Last night I was reading a forum that discusses books, authors, etc. I was looking through the topics and found one called “J.R.R. Tolkien vs. J.K. Rowling” and the topic creator asked, who created the most creative world?

I’ve seen other topics similar to this, comparing the two and much arguing is who better. One of the arguments someone used in the topic I read last night is that since Lord of the Rings were written for adults, that automatically makes them better than Harry Potter, which is written for children. That annoyed me, but that’s a topic for another time.

Anyway, I would consider myself a bigger fan of Lord of the Rings, but I like both series. Both of the authors are very creative.

However, whenever I see these discussions, I always wonder, what about Diana Wynne Jones?

She was after J.R.R Tolkien, but was writing many, many years before J.K. Rowling. And in the course of Diana’s career, she created many magical worlds. She had some series and stand alone books. Even in her stand alone books, her worlds were creative and memorable.

The Game, for instance, is one of Diana’s stand alone books. It’s under 200 pages and one of my favorite books by her. It is about Hayley, who lives with her grandparents. She is sent to live with some aunts and find out she has a very large family. The children there play The Game, where they visit a place called the mythosphere. And it’s really quite interesting, but I don’t want to spoil the book. I’ll say it has to do with Gods, Goddesses and Greek Mythology.

But she does a great job building the world in that book, even though it is only a short book, and it is wonderful.

My point is, Diana Wynne Jones wrote fantasy and she was very creative, too. Why is she never mentioned in these debates on who is better?

I think she is a wonderful author who created such great worlds in her books. I think in these debates she deserves a mention.

7 responses to “What About Diana Wynne Jones?

    • I could probably just say something in the topic, but I don’t know if anyone will really notice. I could try though.

      I know she’s not as popular as either of them, but really, she was a wonderful author and created many great worlds. I think she should get more mentions when it comes to discussions like this.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Wordpress Blogs - Wordpress Blogs .NET

  2. I was telling my kids about these books. We are going to take a library trip one day to get one. 🙂 btw i do not think the comparison to the two authors is fair. But honestly both used prior mythical stories to recreate. Hmmm

    Like

Leave a Reply

