In Which I Reread Howl’s Moving Castle & Celebrate Diana Wynne Jones

5 years ago this month I read Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. I had watched the Studio Ghibli first, not knowing it was based on a book. I loved the movie; thought it was wonderful and still do. But a day or so after watching the movie, I had found out it was based on a book.

At that time, I was signed up for Hershey Library’s summer reading program. Luckily they had the book and I put it on hold.

Above is the cover of the copy I read from the library. Isn’t it wonderful? At the time, I didn’t know what to expect. I never read anything by Diana Wynne Jones before. I had never even heard of her before.

And I remember the copy I borrowed from the library; it was still new. Pages clean, no rips, just a brand new book that doesn’t seem as if it were read before. Last year I looked at Hershey’s copy of the book is not new anymore. It’s worn, the spine now cracked and very much read.

And what an adventure this book took me on. And did it change my life. I began writing again because of this book, because of Diana Wynne Jones.

Diana has been gone three years now and since her passing, March has been Diana Wynne Jones month for her fans. I didn’t take part this year because I decided to celebrate Diana this month, the month that I became a fan 5 years ago.

I own a copy of the book and my copy has the same cover as above. I fell in love with the book and that cover. So, this month I will be rereading Howl’s Moving Castle. I also plan to read The Islands of Chaldea which was completed by Diana’s sister, Ursula Jones. It was released April 22 in America.

I’m thinking of posting as I read chapters of Howl’s Moving Castle and just writing about the chapter. Maybe adding lines I like and such. I think it would be a nice way to celebrate Diana by rereading the first book I ever read by her and posting about the book chapter by chapter.

I’ll probably post other things this month about her also. Maybe a few reviews of her books I’ve read and some other things.

I hope you all will enjoy reading this posts about Howl’s Moving Castle and Diana Wynne Jones.

2 responses to “In Which I Reread Howl’s Moving Castle & Celebrate Diana Wynne Jones

  1. I love this! 🙂 Yes, celebrate Diana and her work! 🙂
    Please post more about Howl’s Moving Castle!
    I’d love to learn even more about this amazing author who has had such an important positive impact on your life! I’d love to hear more about her books, too. 🙂
    The artwork on that cover is beautiful and intriguing! 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

    • I’m going to keep posting more about Howl’s Moving Castle. I’ve finished the first chapter and have written a post for it. I have it set to go up tomorrow on here. The chapter posts will probably have spoilers though.

      I’ll have to think of some other posts to write about her this month. There will be more reviews up of some of the books I’ve read by her. Besides rereading Howl’s Moving Castle, I’m reading The Islands of Chaldea, her newest book that her sister Ursula Jones finished. I’ll probably post a review of that one as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

