Would Public Death Penalty Lower Crime?

I was looking on Chatabout and someone asked this question. They said tickets could be sold so people could buy them and watch it taken place.

Personally, I don’t agree with the death penalty. There are some truly evil people in this world, but no matter how evil, I couldn’t kill them (unless it was self-defense) or watch their death and take enjoyment in it.

When I read the question and what the person had to say, it reminded me of history books I’ve read about Salem, or Lady Jane Grey, who was Queen for three days. People watching the beheadings, the hangings, burnings and actually enjoying it; loving every minute that people suffer. I know in those two cases innocent people were killed. But, innocent, or guilty, people watching the death of another and celebrating it, or enjoying it just bothers me.

Now, would making the death penalty a public event lower crime? I honestly don’t know. I just know I’d never buy a ticket, or watch it if it were shown on TV.

Do you think making the death penalty a public event is a good idea? Do you think it would lower crime?

12 responses to “Would Public Death Penalty Lower Crime?

  1. nothing were doing or have done as a people/society has worked to curb crime. death and jail does nothing. greed/desire are our downfall. sure sell tickets to an execution and help eliminate our national debt.

    Like

  2. I don’t like the idea of selling tickets. All the weirdos would show up. I think the death penalty is useful in certain instances (like Ted Bundy) just to rid the world of a few of its monsters. The justice system is a big problem, I think, but I also think that it’s the best we can do at this point.

    Like

  3. I agree with you.
    And I don’t think it would deter or lower the crime.
    It freaks me out in movies to see the people in The Old West gathering with a picnic lunch to watch a hanging. 😦
    I don’t care how evil a person is…it would bring me no joy or closure to watch them die.
    (((HUGS))) and ♥ !!!

    Like

    • That bothers me in movies too, but I know people did watch hangings, or people being burned at the stake. . . I just know I couldn’t watch that. It wouldn’t bring me any joy either.

      Like

  4. That’s what they did in the Roman days. They’d round up the criminals and those on the margins of society and hold so called games where lions and tigers or the latest and greatest gladiator would kill the intended victim for sport. I wish I could say that in the last few thousand years we had progressed….

    Like

  5. I am not sure as someone else already said, what we have down so far has not stopped crime.
    Washington Sate was a capital punishment state until our current gov. changed that.
    I do not feel strongly about it one way or the other.

    Like

  6. I never viewed the death penalty as a deterrent to crime. I don’t think it was ever meant to be. And it would be very naive for anyone to assume that it would. There are some people that have very dark hearts and are going to comment very violent crimes regardless of the consequences. The death penalty was originally intended to be a “just punishment” to fit the crime commented.

    As far as making it into a show or spectacle, there is something very disturbing in anyone that would find something like that entertaining. I would find that crowd very creepy and not the kind of people I would want to hang with.

    Like

Leave a Reply

