Not Reading For All The Right Reasons?

Last night I was on a website called Chatabout. It is a website where you earn points and then can trade them in for Amazon gift cards, paypal and even items like Jewelry. It is kind of like Swagbucks, you can do surveys and other stuff like Swagbucks has to earn points. But the difference is, Chatabout is also a place to discuss topics. Pretty much any topic, really. Movies, tv shows, news and much more. You also earn points for comments you leave on different topics and you can have discussions with people about whatever topics interest you. It’s pretty neat.

One of the topics I frequent is reading and I’m sure that is not surprising. Well, last night someone had commented that they think it is sad that so many people don’t read physical books anymore. I replied to say that I read physical books and that’s all I read. I continued to by saying that I have tried to read ebooks, but for me, it is just not as the same.

Someone replied to me (not the one who had started the discussion) and said “Then you’re not reading books for all the right reasons.”

The person then went onto to say that she reads for those words and creates things in her mind. And a person doesn’t need the physical copy, which is why she only gets the physical copy if she really likes the book.

I replied that I didn’t want to be rude, but how can she tell someone that they aren’t reading for the right reasons? That some people just prefer physical books and some others prefer ebooks and that there is nothing wrong with that.

Again she replied that it was how I worded it, by saying that I have tried reading ebooks, but it’s not the same. And she said ALL the right reasons, implying that I wasn’t completely wrong (how was I wrong at all?). Also, saying that I didn’t want to rude implied that I was intending to be rude with my comment and it wouldn’t have been rude if I didn’t write that part. Then she said that it is all opinion and there is nothing to feel rude about.

Some of you have been reading my blog for a while, ever since I was on Xanga and you know I’m not the type to fight. I don’t like it. I don’t like drama. It is not my thing, but some of you also know some of the things I dealt with on Xanga and kept quiet about, not saying anything, not even to defend myself.

I decided that with this blog, I wouldn’t do that, that if someone said anything rude or mean, I would defend myself.

So, the only reason I even replied to her comment is because I felt it was rude. Honestly, I was completely shocked to be told that I am not reading for all the right reasons.

Seriously, Bigfoot could walk into my house right now to say hello and I wouldn’t even be half as shocked as I am about being told I don’t read for all the right reasons.

I love books. I love to read. I love words and love to write. I’m passionate about books and writing, but I’m sure most of you already know that.

I wouldn’t tell someone that they are not reading for all the right reasons if they only read ebooks. If that is their preference, then so be it. What does it matter as long as a person is reading? My preference is physical books. And I have read ebooks, but it just wasn’t the same; I found that I still preferred physical books.

Different people have different preferences and maybe I’m missing something, but I don’t see how preferring physical books are not reading for all the right reasons.

Do you think if someone prefers physical books they are not reading for all the right reasons?

17 responses to “Not Reading For All The Right Reasons?

  1. I prefer physical books and I think for the ‘right’ reasons though I’m not sure exactly what that means. I read for all kinds of reasons. Lots of times the reason determines the book.
    Seems to me the person you said that to you has some kind of issue of their own to work out

    Like

  2. They sound like one of those people who just assume they know everything and are right all the time. They tick me off, but there is nothing you can say that will make them back down.
    I don’t much care for reading on a computer screen. For me, a real book is more convenient (it’s batteries don’t run down), and I can easily make notes; plus, I can use the cool bookmarks I make!

    Like

    • Yeah, I was just really shocked to have anyone say that to me. I think I’d be just as shocked if she were to say that to anyone else.

      I’d read some ebooks on the computer, but I still like physical books. When I’m online, I usually look at the websites I like it and read a book at the same time. I can’t do that if I’m reading it on my computer. I know there are ereaders, but I don’t really want to buy one. And with as much as I read, I’ll have to charge it all the time lol

      And I agree about bookmarks. I love using them. I usually just buy ones from the bookstore or online. I did make a bookmark recently, but not for myself to use. I put it for sale in my store online.

      Have you ever posted any pictures of the bookmarks you make?

      Like

  3. Oh my! How judgemental of that person to think they know how, or why you read! I love my e reader, but can certainly understand why you wouldn’t. I like the ease and convenience of it and am at a point in life where I have downsized and let go of a lot of my books, no room to store physical books. Who cares, which you prefer! You and I both read because we love it…isn’t that all that matters?

    Like

  4. Honestly, she’s probably fairly young and just stating her opinion because she can. Don’t let it bother you too much. Oh, and I only read physical books. Ebooks just don’t appeal to me as I like owning something tangible even though it does take up space.

    Like

    • From her picture she looks to be in her 20’s.

      My generation and kids of this generation, we have all grown up around technology. I see a lot of people from my generation just going with all the latest technology. The thing, I like technology. I like having a laptop and being able to get online. But I’m not much for downloading anything. I prefer to have physical copies of books, but also movies, music and TV shows. Oh, and video games too.

      I may just be weird since I’m not into downloading all that stuff. I just like actually owning the item. And for books, I just love to go to a bookstore or library and browse. You can’t really do that with ebooks. I also like meeting authors and getting my books.

      Like

  5. What a weird uncalled for thing for her to say. 😦 These days a lot of people see themselves as critics (in a good way), but they are critics in a bad way. That’s why I spend as little time as possible on any on-line “sites”.

    You are right! What does it matter as long as the person is reading! So true! 🙂

    I prefer physical books and always will. It’s the feel, the smell, the cover, etc! 🙂

    Good for standing up for yourself! 🙂

    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

    • I thought it was weird for her to say also. I definitely wasn’t expecting it.

      I like going onto different websites, but I don’t like having to deal with people being rude and stuff. I wish people weren’t like that online or in real life, but I guess it is something we all have to deal with from time to time.

      And I will always prefer physical books too. Some of my best memories are from going to Borders and looking through the books when I was a teenager. For me, browsing a bookstore or library is such a fun thing because you never know what you might find.

      Like

  6. Foolishness. That’s like saying that if you prefer CDs to an mp3 player, you’re listening to music for the wrong reasons. The mode of storage is not the music any more than it is the stories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

