Book Covers For The Last Apprentice book 13 And Islands of Chaldea

Two books I’m looking forward to this year are The Last Apprentice: Fury of the Seventh Son by Joseph Delaney and Islands of Chaldea by Diana Wynne Jones. Both books I’ve already pre-ordered from Amazon and I decided I would post the book covers for the US and UK editions.

18107099

 

After Diana passed away in March of 2011, Earwig and the Witch was to be her final book. It was the last book she got to the published before she passed and I remember reading she actually had sent that book in to her publish only two days or so before she died.

I pre-ordered Earwig and the Witch, which was released in America on January 31st 2012. I thought it would be the last brand new book by Diana I’d ever buy.

But it was announced that Diana’s sister, Ursula, would finish the book she was working on before she died. According to Diana’s family, the book was almost complete, but Diana wasn’t able to finish it before she died. Ursula is also a writer (read her one children’s picture book and it was very fun! I liked it) and decided to finish the story so it may be published.

Above is the UK cover of the book.

This is the US cover. It’ll be released in America April 22.

Not sure which cover I like the best. I really like them both.

This is book number 13 in the series and the final book. In America the series is known as The Last Apprentice. In the UK, it is known as Wardstone Chronicles or The Spook’s Apprentice. It was released already in the UK.

This is the American cover. It’ll be released April 15th in America. I actually like both covers. The UK one features John Gregory, who Tom Ward is training under. While the US one features Tom Ward. But I like the title of the UK one better and that is because I feel Seventh Son was put into the title since the movie was supposed to be released this year. The movie now won’t be released until next year and honestly, I don’t feel very excited for it anymore. When I watched the trailer, I saw nothing of my beloved series. I’ll still watch the movie, but probably not in the theater.

I can’t wait for April! 🙂

7 responses to “Book Covers For The Last Apprentice book 13 And Islands of Chaldea

    • I enjoy looking at book covers too. It’s really neat to look at your favorite books and see all the covers there are for them.

      And I’m happy that Ursula finished the story too. Ursula said that when she was finishing it, she felt as if Diana were there helping her.

      Like

Leave a Reply

