Positivity Week Day 3: The Past

Today is about the past. It can be about anything, any event, a person (famous or not) who had a positive influence on you.

Most of the people who have read my blog for a long time know that the Spice Girls have had a huge influence on me. I was only seven years old when I first saw the video for Wannabe on TV. I’ve been a fan for seventeen years and continue to follow all the girls solo careers. I love them all and they all have had a huge impact on me beginning when I was seven.

But I remember when the Spice Girls were big; everyone had a favorite. I think the most popular were Baby Spice and Ginger Spice. From the beginning I loved Scary Spice. I loved her hair, that she wore leopard and camouflage, that she wasn’t afraid to share her opinions.

Most people think of her as the black Spice Girl. But I remember even when they first became famous, she always said she was black and white, that she was very proud of being mixed. In 2002 when her biography Catch A Fire was released, there was more about this. At times when she was a child she was picked on for being biracial, but even so, she never chose to just be black or white. Even though she had some bad experiences, she was proud to be mixed and was teaching her daughter to be proud of being mixed too.

As a teenager, I did have an identity crisis. It was a tough time for me, but I always remembered Melanie B (Scary Spice) and how she is proud of everything that she is, that she doesn’t deny any part of her heritage. That was really a positive influence on me and eventually helping me be happy and comfortable with who I am. I don’t look Native, but that’s okay. I don’t have to look like it to be proud of my heritage and I am proud of my Cherokee heritage. But most of all, I am proud to be mixed. I am Cherokee, Welsh and German. If I ever meet Melanie B, I will thank her for being a positive role model, an influence on my life and teaching me that it is a great thing to be mixed and it is great to be proud of it.

6 responses to “Positivity Week Day 3: The Past

  1. I think Mel B is cool! I’m glad she’s had such a positive impact on you! It would be so cool to meet her and be able to thank her!
    To be proud of our heritage and our ancestors is so important!
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

