Neil Gaiman Lecture On Books And Libraries

Yesterday through a blog that I follow, there was an article with the lecture author Neil Gaiman did on October 14th. Neil Gaiman is the author of Coraline, The Graveyard Book, American Gods and many other books, as well as a friend of the late Diana Wynne Jones. Most of you know how much I love Diana and how she has been a major inspire to me. However, I found Neil Gaiman before I knew he was a friend of Diana’s.

He is also a great author, I’ve read a few of his books and enjoyed them, especially Coraline and The Graveyard Book. He is definitely an author I have a lot of respect for and after reading his lecture, I like him even more.

His lecture is on books and libraries, two things that are very dear to me.

Earlier this year I posted about Terry Deary and the fact he thinks libraries are a thing of the past; that they need to go. I thought it was quite surprising for an author to think that of libraries. Neil Gaiman doesn’t share this opinion and thinks that libraries are wonderful, that they are very important.

There are many reasons why I love Neil Gaiman’s lecture. It’s just wonderful and I agree with everything he says. Fiction is a great thing; there is nothing wrong with reading it, or reading it to escape. Libraries are important and I am very thankful for them. I’ve discovered so many great authors that way, so many that have become favorites and I buy their books.

If you love books, or libraries, or both, I think you will really like Neil Gaiman’s lecture. Click here and I hope you all like it.

6 responses to “Neil Gaiman Lecture On Books And Libraries

  1. I may not read the lecture, but I agree with you surprise that an author would say such a thing about libraries. Some people seem to forget that not everyone has access to the Internet. There are also a lot of us who like to hold a book in our hands and turn the pages (not virtual pages).

    Like

    • Terry Deary believes that libraries keep authors from getting sales since people can borrow books for free. Not sure about America, but in the UK, authors do get some money from libraries when their books are borrowed.

      I disagree with him though. It is because of libraries I’ve found many authors. I may have borrowed their books at first, but I’ve bought many to support the authors afterward.

      Like

Leave a Reply

