8 Years

On Saturday, September 21st, Marc and I celebrated our 8th anniversary.

I can’t believe it’s been 8 years. I know some of you know how Marc and I met from following my blog on Xanga, but I’ll tell it again for those who are new readers.

I was 16 at the time and he was 19. We met in a chat room on AOL. It was the New Jersey chat room. I was just going into the different states chat rooms looking for people to talk to and one night I ended up in that chat room and found Marc. After that, we began to chat every night. Eventually we talked on the phone and that turned into an every day thing as well.

We had an instant connection and a lot in common. Our relationship was long distance for a while and actually didn’t meet in person until I was 18. He came to visit for the first time on my 18th birthday. After about a year and a half of coming to visit me, he decided to move to Pennsylvania to live with me.

I know that there are still people who think online relationships can’t work, or that you can’t fall in love with someone without meeting them first. Well, my relationship worked and I fell in love with Marc before we met in person on my 18th birthday. He is a great guy, he is caring, loving and the person I want to spend my life with. I’m very lucky to have found him.

Marc worked on Saturday, but we still got to spend some time together. I got him a few gifts I knew he would like and he got me The Last Apprentice: I Am Alice by Joseph Delaney. It’s book number 12 in the series and he knew how much I wanted it. So we had a good day together and I’m looking forward to celebrating 9 years with him next year.

17 responses to “8 Years

  1. Aw! How wonderful! Congrats to you and to Marc! 🙂
    I’m so glad you met and are now celebrating eight years! 🙂
    YAY!!! 🙂
    I love that he bought you the book you wanted! I know you and I both think books are THE BEST gift!!! 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

  2. Every guy I have ever met and clicked with amazingly well has been someone I met online, in some form, so I definitely am one to advocate for online relationships. They can and DO work out, sometimes even better than where you’ve met someone in the flesh, because you tend to do a lot more talking and getting to know one another beforehand, when you meet online. At least that’s how it’s been in my case.
    Congrats.

    Like

  3. Congrats! That’s awesome, and what a great story. Online relationships aren’t for everyone. I, for one, don’t think I could handle it, but that doesn’t mean they don’t work, and you are proof of that! Best of luck on a lifetime of anniversaries!

    Like

  4. My how time flies! Congratulations on your anniversary hun! I’m glad you had a nice day! Just think, after 9 years comes 10! Are you guys planning anything for your 10th anniversary? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

