A Year Ago Today

A year ago today was the Olympic’s closing ceremony. You’re probably wondering why that matters. Well, at the closing ceremony last year was the first time the Spice Girls had performed together in five years.

And I’m sure most of you know that I am a huge fan. I have been since I was 7. I was just so, so excited last year. Whenever there was news about them or pictures of them practicing for their performance, I’d post about it on Xanga.

I did eventually stop posting on there about the Spice Girls and just brought my excitement over to WordPress. There were a few people getting annoyed on Xanga with my posts about the Spice Girls and so I just decided to post on here about them.

I posted about preparing for the closing ceremony and of course, about the performance after I watched it.

In preparation for the closing ceremony I was listening to Spice Girls CDs, I read Real Life, Real Spice and wore one of my Spice Girls t-shirts.

And the performance was absolutely amazing. They were brilliant and did wonderfully. They looked beautiful and just fierce. The Spice Girls were the talk of the closing ceremony. Everyone was excited to see them. And I was proud of them. After all these years, they still got it.

And it was a year ago today that they had an amazing performance. It wasn’t very long, probably only 2 or 3 minutes. But it is something I will always remember.

Spice Girls at the 2012 Olympic’s Closing Ceremony

9 responses to “A Year Ago Today

  1. I’m glad you shared this here on WP!!! 🙂
    I’ve always thought the Spice Girls were beautiful-girl-power-women! I find myself singing one or two of their songs, still!
    I can’t pick a fav SP! But I really enjoy Mel B! I wish she could get the group together to sing on America’s Got Talent! I love her as a judge! So many of the young girls who perform on there, tell Mel B how much the SG’s influenced their lives in such positive ways! 🙂
    I’m sorry people on Xanga were not nice. 😦
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

    • Yeah, they are great. I’ve always looked up to them.

      I haven’t watched her on America’s Got Talent, but I’ve heard she is great on there. I wish she could get the group back together too! I think they’ve said that they might do a tour again one day, which would be great. But I would love a new album from them as a group.

      The Spice Girls seem to have been a positive influence in many peoples lives, including mine.

      And thanks. At least I can post about them on here.

      Like

  2. They were awesome! Why were people on Xanga annoyed? It’s your blog and you can post whatever you want. Glad I don’t bother posting there anymore! Have a good night! 🙂

    Like

  3. They really do look as though they’ve still got it after all this time! Love them! Wish I’d seen that performance! And who cares if some people don’t like your posting about them on your blog? It’s yours! Post what you want. I always like it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

