Seventh Son

Seventh Son comes out January 17th, 2014. Originally supposed to come out February 22nd, 2013 and then pushed back to October 18th, 2013. It was supposed to be based on the first book in The Last Apprentice series, but if you watch the trailer, it says it is inspired by the series.

I am a big fan of The Last Apprentice series. I love it and I am just so looking forward to the next book, which comes out in September. When I heard there was going to be a movie I was excited. I know that with books to movies there are changes. Some things are changed, other stuff is left out and while it may be a bit annoying, the movies based off books aren’t always bad.

The Golden Compass, Inkheart, The Vampire’s Assistant and Howl’s Moving Castle are just a few of the movies based off books that I liked. They do differ from the books they are based on, but I still greatly enjoyed the movie.

I’m hoping it will be the same with Seventh Son, but I’m already very disappointed.

First I saw some pictures from the set of the movie and Jeff Bridges looks awesome as John Gregory. But when I found out that Ben Barnes was cast as Thomas Ward, I wasn’t happy. It’s nothing against Ben Barnes. But Thomas Ward, the main character of the books, is 13 in the first book and Ben Barnes I believe is 31. I just don’t understand why they wouldn’t cast someone who was actually 13. Other fans have been saying the same thing.

I think it was a few weeks ago that the official trailer for the movie was released and I watched it. I know it’s been a few years since I read the first book, but the movie looks very, very different.

And I’m not sure if Jeff Bridges is a Spook in the movie, like John Gregory is in the book series. I’ve read a few different articles and some say he is a knight and others say he is a wizard. I don’t know. I just know it seems they have changed a lot in the movie.

If you want to read the short version of this, here it is: They’ve changed a lot in the movie, it doesn’t look anything like the book and it makes me sad 😦

Have you ever been disappointed by a movie that was based on one of your favorite books?

8 responses to “Seventh Son

  1. I understand how you feel. I’ve felt this way about movies made from books before. Some I think were great…and others I thought they did a poor job and it was nothing like the book. With some they even chose actors who didn’t fit the characters descriptions in the book.
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

    • I know with books to movies there are always changes, but sometimes too much is changed. There are movies based from books that I do love even with the differences. But I just love this series and to see the movie changed just so much, I’m really disappointed in the movie company’s decisions. I think that because the series isn’t popular or even very well-known, they think they can do what they want and no one will. I guess they figure the series few fans don’t matter.

      Like

  2. I’d like to see this. Sounds interesting. I haven’t read the book. I’m usually disappointed when I read the book first and then see the movie about it. They always change a lot of things.

    Like

  3. A 31-year-old playing the part of a 13-year-old? That’s just WRONG. I hope they write in a really good explanation for that. While it’s true that lot of men get mentally stuck at the age of 13, they sure don’t look it. I generally like books to movies. Sometimes they’re better; sometimes not; sometimes just right. I get a kick our of noting the similarities and differences.

    Like

    • Yeah, I don’t know why they felt the need to change the story as much as they’ve done.

      And I notice the differences too. Whenever I know a movie is coming out that is based on a book, I try to read the book first. My boyfriend and I will go to the theater to see the movie and I’ll say things like, “Well, that never happened in the book.” lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

