North And South

I don’t pretend to know everything about the Civil War. It’s not an area of history I’ve fully dived into quite yet, but I know bits here and there from reading history books while I was homeschooled and what I’ve learned from reading online and reading stuff in paranormal books.

But recently, I’ve read a few books by Ann Rinaldi. She writes historical fiction. One I read a week or two ago called Wolf by the Ears. It’s set in the 1800s and is about a girl who is a slave, but believed to one of Thomas Jefferson’s children. That one had more to do with slavery and finding out more about one’s self. The most recent I’ve read by Ann Rinaldi is In My Father’s House. I finished it yesterday. It is also set in the 1800s, around the time of the Civil War. The main character is a southern girl named Oscie and the war is seen through her eyes as she grows up and changes. Both were good books and both gave me lots to think about.

But In My Father’s House has me thinking about the Civil War, the North and the South. What it was like back in those times. And not to mention, but this year is the 150th anniversary of the battle of Gettysburg. Today is also July 1st, which was the start of the battle and it went until July 3rd.

The book and the 150th anniversary of the battle of Gettysburg have thinking about these things, but my dad also. And that’s because recently I was reminded of something he said when I was a kid.

I was out with my parents one night and someone was talking to my dad about Gettysburg and our paranormal group ghost hunting there. And this, of course, gets him talking about the history of Gettysburg and the Civil War, which he has studied lots about. Whenever he gets to talking about Gettysburg and the Civil War at one point he always says “You know, the South should have won.” and explains how they could have won.

Hearing that the other day brought back a memory, something I haven’t thought of in a very long time. But I can see it so clearly in my head.

When I was a kid, I was with my parents in Gettysburg. I had to be younger than ten so this was before the ghost hunting, our paranormal group and regular trips to Gettysburg. It was during the summer and we were in one of the shops out there that sold authentic looking Civil War clothing. I think my dad was talking about the Civil War and Gettysburg while we were in the store. I was looking at the toy swords and I’m not sure what prompted me to ask, but I asked my dad, “What side do you think should have won?” and for a few seconds he paused. He could have been thinking over his answer, but I’m sure it was because he was wondering how my mother or I would react to his answer. But finally he replied and said, “Well, I wish the South would have won.”

I don’t remember his explanation why he wishes the South would have won, but I do remember his answer. And I just know my dad seems to have an obsession with the fact the South should have won.

And I’ve just been thinking, what if the South would have won? How would things be different now? Would things be different, or have ended up the same? These are questions that I will never know the answer to.

Do you think the South should have won? If they did, how do you think things would be now, better or worse?

14 responses to “North And South

  1. I live in the deep south and I know lots of people who seem to think the south should have won or think the south will rise again and/or still resent the north for how ‘they’ treated ‘us’. I for one am glad the south didn’t win. If the whole country was ruled by the mindset in Alabama things would be a lot more conservative and less tolerant of differences and new ideas.

    Like

    • I don’t have much experience with the south. I’ve been to Maryland, North Carolina and South Carolina for vacations before, but that’s about it. So I’m not sure how it is in the south. But I do agree about the mindsets some people have and it’s good that the south didn’t win otherwise people would have been forced to agree with such mindsets.

      Like

  2. I am happy the South didn”t win either and I think the expectations of people to conform and all fit into one mold and racism would be even worse than it is.
    That is my two cents worth anyway.

    Like

    • I do wonder if things would be worse if the South had won. I don’t believe all Southern people now or then are bad. But whoever is in power, either you follow them, their opinions, etc or you have trouble. I believe there were probably good people who lived in the South in those times, but maybe they had no other choice than to follow the crowd.

      Like

  3. Maybe you should ask your dad again why he thought that the South should have won. I agree with JR and Ruth. I wanted to go to Gettysburg on the 4th but my friend has to work unfortunately. If you go, have fun! 🙂

    Like

    • I probably won’t ask him. I haven’t blogged much about my dad, but we don’t have the best relationship. We’re very different; our opinions definitely differ greatly and my dad loves to argue even if he is wrong. So I try to avoid talking to him to avoid fights. There is more to it than that, but that’s part of it.

      I’ll be going to Gettysburg on the 6th. I’m going to a cook out at the neighbor’s house and afterwards heading to Gettysburg. I’ll probably take some pictures and post them later.

      I want to go to the Haunted Gettysburg store and see if Bob Wasel is there. If he is, I’d like him to sign a book of his I have.

      Like

      • Sorry things are that way with your dad. I hope things get better. Have a good time on the 6th as well as tomorrow whatever you are doing. I look forward to the pictures! I wanna go to that store, too. I might go to Getty later this month or next month. Happy 4th tomorrow! 🙂

        Like

      • Thanks.

        I hope you have fun whenever you go to Gettysburg. The Haunted Gettysburg store is my favorite store there. They have so much neat stuff and lots of ghost books.

        Happy Fourth of July to you 🙂

        Like

  4. Great questions!!!

    I grew up in The West…so I only learned about the Civil War and racism, etc., in school. But then in graduate school I met some fellow students (who became good friends of mine) from the South and they shared lots of stories with me about growing up there and taught me a lot about the southern US and it’s history.

    I am against racism and don’t think anyone should be a slave of another person…so in that respect I’m glad the war turned out the way it did.

    I visited a graveyard in Tennessee that had grave markers from the Civil War times. Sadly some of the men buried there were killed because they would NOT fight on the side of The South. 😦

    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

    • I’m glad the North won too, since that ended slavery.

      I’ve been on some vacations in the south, but since I didn’t grow up there, I don’t really know the history. I’m learning bits on my own though. Something I have seen with some people is that they think the South is full of racist and hateful people and has always been. I’ve never thought that and when you said about the grave markers of people who wouldn’t fight on the side of the South, it made me think of that again. There were (and probably still are) racist and hateful people in the South, but it’s not all of them. I know from what I’ve read, like you said some wouldn’t fight with the South, and that not everyone in the South even agreed with slavery or wanted it.

      I suppose it’s just one of the stereotypes of the South though, that everyone there is racist.

      Like

  5. Interesting question… but I’m kind of glad they didn’t. I think we’re stronger as a nation with them than without. Can you ask your father why he wishes the south had won? I’ll bet there’s an interesting answer there and I’m very curious about that.

    Like

    • I actually try to avoid talking to him about stuff like this. He can be very argumentative, especially if you don’t share his view. And he just kind of has an old mind set, I guess you could say. You know, thinking men are superior to women, women must always obey men, etc. And even though we are Cherokee, he’s never really liked black people. He’s calmed down on racial slurs since I got with my boyfriend, but I don’t know if it’s because he’s changed or just hiding it now.

      Like

  6. Also, mind you, the end of the secessionist resistance also meant, incidentally, the end of slavery in this country. And how can that be a bad thing? It was a hideous institution.

    Like

Leave a Reply

