S.E. Hinton On Goodreads

I’m sure most of you know how much I love to read. But I really only began to love books when I was around 13/14. I had a hard time learning to read and since I had such difficulty learning to read, I didn’t like it.

And as you can see, that changed for me. I love to read.

My mom homeschooled me and I had to read and keep a list of books I’d read throughout the year. She took me to Borders and let me pick out some books to read. One of the books I chose was The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton.

The Outsiders (along with Slam! by Walter Dean Myers) was one of the books that really got me into reading.

I’ve been writing since I was 12. The first thing I wrote was a poem and then I began writing songs. After reading The Outsiders and finding out that S.E. Hinton was a female and wrote The Outsiders when she was only 16, I was inspired to write my own book.

The Outsiders is a book that has stuck with me since I first read it. I could relate to the characters, the story had so much emotion and in its own way, it changed me. And that’s when I knew what I wanted to do with my life. I wanted to do that, I wanted to write stories, poems and books. I wanted to write characters people could relate to, books that would touch someone, change their life.

It is because of S.E. Hinton that I want to be an author.

And when I found out that S.E. Hinton would be answering questions on Goodreads on June 17th, I joined the group and asked my question.

This was my question:

“Who is your biggest inspiration? Is there an author or someone else in your life that inspired you to become a writer?”

And S.E. Hinton’s answer was:

“The act of reading has been the major influence in my
life, not one particular author.”

So many people asked questions that she didn’t have time to answer them all. So I am happy that she did answer mine.

I read the other answers to questions and found out a few things: S.E. Hinton likes to watch Psych and is apparently writing a new book. It seems it’ll be another adult book.

I just thought it was awesome she came to Goodreads and answered questions. I don’t know if she does book signings anymore, but one day, I would like to be able to meet her and tell her how she has inspired me. Hopefully I get the chance to do so.

11 responses to “S.E. Hinton On Goodreads

  1. OHMYGOSH!!! This is sooooooooooooooo exciting to me, because S.E.Hinton is one of my favorite writers!!! 🙂 Yay, I’m glad she answered your question! 🙂

    I read The Outsiders when I was twelve years old…and I thought it was so cool that she wrote it as a young teenager…and because she didn’t share her name, but just her initials, some people didn’t know a girl had written the book. 🙂

    The Outsiders and To Kill a Mockingbird and The Little House series were books I read in childhood that had great positive impacts on me…and let me “escape”.

    Books have played such an important part in my life. 🙂

    I hope you get to meet her someday and get to tell her how much she has inspired you! 🙂 If you do meet her, give her a hug from me!
    HUGS!!!
    🙂

    Like

  2. I haven’t read her but now I intend to…I have read very few stuff writen in the past century as I prefer certain eras of humanity better than that one 😛 I have tried to dive into “new” literature but it’s really hard for me to get engaged by a book more contemporaneus than Victorian era, that’s a s moderd as I go…with the exception of Tolkien of course.

    Thanks for the recomendation, I’ll try to find a copy of one of her works and give it a try 🙂

    Like

    • I’ve seen the movie too. It is really good.

      If your son read The Outsiders and liked it, he’ll probably like her other young adult books too. Just don’t buy him Hawkes Harbor. It is a good book, but it is for adults.

      That Was Then, This Is Now, Rumble Fish, Tex and Taming the Star Runner are the titles of her other young adult books.

      Like

    • Well, if he reads Game of Thrones then her adult book will probably be okay for him. Still if he likes The Outsiders, he’ll probably enjoy her other teen books as well.

      When I was a teenager, I read some adult books too and my parents were okay with it. I know some parents will only let their kids read books that are for their age group and that’s if they approve the books first. So that’s why I warned you because I didn’t know if you let your kids read adult books or not.

      Like

Leave a Reply

