Seven Years

Today Marc and I have been together for seven years. It’s hard to believe it has been that long, but it’s been a wonderful seven years.

We’ve been through a lot together. He’s been there for me through the toughest times and has always encouraged me. He supports me in whatever I do and he’s truly an amazing guy. There’s really so much I could say about him, about us. I just know that I am happy and I’m lucky to have found such a wonderful guy.

I know I’ve shared our story before, about how we met. I have some new readers though, so I will share again. I was 16 and had broken up with my boyfriend of two years. He was trying to control, telling me what to do and so I ended it. I had seen (and still see) so many people in relationships with controlling people and I knew I didn’t want that for myself. So, I wasn’t looking for anyone. I wasn’t looking for a relationship at all. But then, I met Marc.

I had just come back from a vacation in West Virginia and I was online chatting with people in a New Jersey chat room. Marc had sent me an instant message and we began talking. We found out that we had a lot in common and we had an instant connection. He added me to his buddy list and I added him to mine. After that night we began talking every day online. Then, a few weeks later we talked on the phone for the first time. He was shy and so was I. But pretty soon, we were talking on the phone every day.

Every day I looked forward to talking to him. It’s what I waited for every day and eventually I asked him to be my boyfriend. We didn’t meet until my eighteenth birthday and it was a special day. My birthday is January and I remember it was snowing that day. We stayed up most of the night talking and watching DVDs. It was such a good birthday, a special one.

I know there are people against online dating and say you can’t find love online. All I know is that I did. I found Marc and fell in love with him. I’m happy I found him and I look forward to spending the rest of my life with him.

2 responses to “Seven Years

Leave a Reply

