ParaNorman

  • (Image found on Google image search)

    Last week I went to see the movie ParaNorman. It is a stop-motion animated film and was released in theaters August 17. It already has a DVD/Blu-ray release date of November 27.

    The film is set in a small town in Massachusetts and is about a boy named Norman. Norman seems just like any normal boy his age, but then, it is revealed that he can see and speak to the dead. Norman can see and speak to his grandmother who passed away. Norman is bullied for his abilities and his family doesn’t really accept his abilities, especially his dad, who doesn’t believe Norman at all. I would say the exception is Norman’s mother, she seems to be much more patient with him.

    Norman eventually sees his uncle, who his father has deemed as crazy.  Norman’s uncle can also see and speak with the dead. He wants to talk to Norman about a very important task that he wants Norman to do, as soon he will no longer be able to do it.

    Norman soon learns that it is up to him to keep the dead from coming back.

    When I first saw the previews for this I thought the movie looked pretty good. But after seeing it, I really loved it. It was very funny movie and so much was going on that made me laugh. I love to laugh, so this was good for me. But the movie definitely has its serious side and a lesson to teach. Both Norman and his friend Neil are bullied, Norman for his abilities of seeing and speaking to the dead, Neil for being overweight. They are both seen as different and are outcasts. I think the movie does a good job of teaching to accept people for who they are. I could also relate to Norman because he can see ghosts and I’ve been able to see them all my life.

    Overall, it was a really great movie. I loved it and it is one I’m buying on DVD. However, there is one more thing that I would like to address. If you haven’t seen the movie and don’t want it spoiled, please don’t read the next part. I don’t know if it will be spoiler for people, but it is something that doesn’t happen until the end.

    But if you don’t want to spoiled, don’t read below. Just know that I highly recommend this movie.

     

    *****Possible spoiler*******

     

     

    There is a character named Mitch, he is Neil’s brother. Mitch is a jock and Norman’s sister is interested in him. At the end, you think they are going on a date, but they are only going out as friends because Mitch is gay and has a boyfriend. This shocked me because well. . . . I’ve never seen an openly gay character in a cartoon. Maybe this is a sign of change, but I thought it was neat. I’m not sure how other people are reacting to it, or how parents are reacting to it. But I just thought it was neat the creators did that.

2 responses to “ParaNorman

Leave a Reply

