100 Young Adult Books

A  few weeks ago there was a website having people vote for their favorite Young Adult books. I voted and I think last week they finally put up the top 100 Young Adult books. I believe the list went over 200 and they made up it of the most voted for books. Here is the link to the full 100 Young Adult books: http://www.npr.org/2012/08/07/157795366/your-favorites-100-best-ever-teen-novels

But I’m going to list some of my favorites that made the list. All book covers were found on the NPR website.

Hobbit or There and Back Again The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien – This one was number 5 on the list. I read this one a few years ago and I thought it was a good and fun book. I wanted to have it read before the movies come out. The first one comes out this December.

The Outsiders The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton – This one came in at number 13. It is one of my all time favorites. This book and author S.E. Hinton were the reason I began to write more than just songs. I found my love of writing after reading this book.

Complete Anne of Green Gables Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery – This one was number 14. I fell in love with Anne through the mini-series that aired in the 80s. I watched it so many times throughout my childhood. I bought the full book set of Anne a few years back. I’ve read about three or four books in the series so far. This one will forever remain a favorite.

His Dark Materials His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman. This book was number 15. This is a truly amazing series. I love these books.

Tuck Everlasting Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt – This one came in at number 30. I read this in 2009 and it was summer. I think summer is the perfect time to read this book. I really love this one. It’s just perfect.

Howl's Moving Castle Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones – This book was number 36. I was so, so happy to see this made the list. Anyone who has been reading my blog for awhile knows just how much I love this book and it’s author. It’s because of this book and Diana that I began to write again and continue going after my dream.

The Chronicles of Chrestomanci Chrestomanci series by Diana Wynne Jones – This comes in at number 94. I was happy to see this as well. I’ve read two books in the series so far.

If you’ve looked at the list, which are your favorites that made it?

3 responses to “100 Young Adult Books

  1. Cool post! I went to the link…a bunch of my favs are there! Some I read as a kid, but some of them I didn’t read until I was an adult and had kids of my own. 🙂

    Mrs. Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children…I read last Fall. 🙂

    My most favs on the list are: To Kill a Mockingbird, The Outsiders, Anne of Green Gables, Flowers for Algernon, Go Ask Alice, Something Wicked This Way Comes, Mrs. Peregrine’s…, anything by Madeleine L’Engle, The Hobbit, etc.!!! 🙂 (Okay, there are too many favs to list here!)

    Some of these books I reread once every year. 🙂

    These books are life changing for the readers. 🙂 I know a few of these were life-changing for me as a kid. 🙂

    YAY for books!!!
    HUGS! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

